Buffalo (pronounced /ˈbʌfəloʊ/) is the second most populous city in the state of New York, after New York City. Located in Western New York on the eastern shores of Lake Erie and at the head of the Niagara River across from Fort Erie, Ontario, Buffalo is the seat of Erie County and the principal city of the Buffalo-Niagara Falls metropolitan area (which is the largest in Western New York and the larger Upstate New York). Downtown Buffalo is located 17 miles (27 km) south of Niagara Falls and 59 miles (95 km) southeast of Toronto, Ontario (Canada's largest city). The city also lies adjacent to the rapidly growing Golden Horseshoe region of Southern Ontario, which has a population of more than 8 million. Buffalo itself has a population of 270,919 (July 1, 2009 Estimate), and the Buffalo–Niagara–Cattaraugus Combined Statistical Area is home to 1,203,997 residents. If the neighboring Regional Municipality of Niagara in Canada is included, the population of the Greater Buffalo-Niagara Region is 1,631,418 residents. Originating around 1789 as a small trading community near the eponymous Buffalo Creek, Buffalo grew quickly after the opening of the Erie Canal in 1825, with the city as its...


More News from Around the Web



Login to make editorial changes to the current page.

Login Cancel