North-West Frontier Province

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (Urdu: خیبر پختون خواہ), previously known as the North-West Frontier Province (see names of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), is one of the four provinces of Pakistan, located in the north west of the country. It borders Afghanistan to the north-west, Gilgit-Baltistan to the north-east, Azad Jammu & Kashmir to the east, the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) to the west and south, Balochistan to the south and Punjab and the Islamabad Capital Territory to the south-east. The main ethnic group in the province are the Pashtuns, locally referred to as Pakhtuns, followed by a number of smaller ethnic groups, most notably, the Hindkowans and Chitralis. The principal language is Pashto, locally referred to as Pakhto and the provincial capital is Peshawar, locally referred to as Pekhawar. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is largely located at the junction where the slopes of the Hindu Kush mountains on the Eurasian plate give way to the Indus-watered hills approaching South Asia, and this has led to seismic activity in the past. Area wise, it is equal to the size of New England [please cite correct reference] . The famous Khyber Pass links the province to Afghanistan, while the Kohalla...


Login to make editorial changes to the current page.

Login Cancel