Oregon Ducks Basketball

Oregon Ducks men’s college basketball is an intercollegiate basketball program that competes in the NCAA Division I and is a member of the Pac-10 Conference, representing the University of Oregon. The Ducks play their home games at McArthur Court, nicknamed The Pit and will play at Matthew Knight Arena beginning in the 2010-11 season. Oregon, then coached by Howard Hobson, won the first NCAA men’s basketball national championship in 1939. The basketball team has appeared in the NCAA tournament 10 times and has won the conference championship four times. The Oregon Ducks won the first NCAA Basketball Championship in 1939, defeating Ohio State 46-33. In 2002, the Ducks attained one of their finest performances ever, going undefeated at home and winning the Pac-10 title. The team went on to defeat Montana, Wake Forest and Texas in the 2002 NCAA Tournament to reach the Elite Eight. The ducks finished their season with a No. 6 ranking. The following year, the Ducks won the Pac-10 tournament, and received a No. 8 seed in the NCAA Tournament behind the strong play of Pac-10 Player of the Year, Luke Ridnour. However, they were defeated by Utah in the opening round of the 2003 NCAA...


More News from Around the Web


Login to make editorial changes to the current page.

Login Cancel