Syracuse Orange Basketball

The Syracuse Orange men's basketball program is the intercollegiate men's basketball team representing Syracuse University. The program is classified in the NCAA's Division I, and the team competes in the Big East Conference. Since playing its first official season in 1900-1901, the Orange has established a strong reputation as the fifth winningest men's Division I basketball team of all-time, and currently holds an active NCAA-record 39 consecutive winning seasons. In its 34th year under current head coach Jim Boeheim, the team has compiled an all-time record 32 20-win seasons, including eight Big East regular season championships, five Big East Tournament championships, 25 NCAA Tournament appearances (and 32 all-time), and three appearances in the national title game. In those games, the Orange lost to Indiana in 1987 and Kentucky in 1996, before defeating Kansas for the title in 2003. The modern era of Syracuse basketball began with the arrival of future Hall of Famer Dave Bing. As a sophomore in 1964, Bing led the team to an NIT appearance and as a senior in 1966, he led the team to its second NCAA Tournament appearance, where it reached the regional final. Bing's backcourt...

More News from Around the Web


Login to make editorial changes to the current page.

Login Cancel