The Ting Tings

The Ting Tings are a British, Ivor Novello winning and Grammy nominated indie pop duo composed of Jules De Martino (drums, lead guitar, bass guitar, vocals, piano) and Katie White (vocals, guitar, bass drums, bass guitar, and cow bells). They formed in December 2007 while based at Islington Mill Artist Studios in Salford. They have released four singles on their current label Columbia Records UK, including the single "That's Not My Name", which charted straight at number one in the UK Singles Chart on 18 May 2008. The album We Started Nothing was released on 19 May 2008 and charted at number one in the United Kingdom. The album has now sold over 2 million copies, with a further 4 million singles sold worldwide. Katie White started her music career in a girl group punk trio TKO – short for Technical Knock Out – with two friends from Lowton school, Marion Grethe Seaman and Emma Lally. The band had some success and supported Steps and Atomic Kitten. In March 2001 songwriter Jules De Martino wrote four songs for TKO at Leeds University. While De Martino was in Manchester a few months later, the pair bumped into each other and discovered they had a mutual love of Portishead. De Martino...

More News from Around the Web


Login to make editorial changes to the current page.

Login Cancel