Delaware Fightin' Blue Hens Football

The Delaware Fightin' Blue Hens represent the University of Delaware in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) college football. The team is currently led by head coach K. C. Keeler and plays on Tubby Raymond Field at 22,000-seat Delaware Stadium located in Newark, Delaware. The Fightin' Blue Hens have won six national titles in their 117-year history - 1946 (AP College Division), 1963 (UPI College Division), 1971 (AP/UPI College Division), 1972 (AP/UPI College Division), 1979 (Division II) and 2003 (Division I-AA). The Blue Hens are recognized as a perennial power in FCS football and are the only FCS program to average more than 20,000 fans per regular-season home game for each of the past eleven years. Delaware football has consistently outdrawn all college football programs in the Philadelphia metropolitan area, with one exception: Penn State at Temple University in 2007. (Attendance was more than double the normal average.) The program's long history began in the late 1800s, but the tradition did not truly begin to take shape until the arrival of Bill Murray in 1940. During his 11 seasons at the helm, the Fightin' Blue...


Login to make editorial changes to the current page.

Login Cancel